crazy quilting for june

Introducing the June block in the Crazy Quilting Collection! This block finishes the same as the others, 78w x 78h (5 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ on 14ct. fabric) I recommend 14 ct. country french aida in Rain from Wichelt Imports, and the design uses threads from The Gentle Art. Four buttons are included, and they will be similar to those pictured but will vary from pattern to pattern as I use found and repurposed buttons from my collection. Available now on the website and coming soon to your favorite local needlework shops.

http://www.carolynmanningdesigns.com

junecrazy

I wanted to capture the colors of June, which I always see as a little bit of spring pastel and the brighter, more vibrant colors of later summer.  I’m very happy with the depth and texture that The Gentle Art sampler threads always give me with these blocks.

june1

This collection has just been so much fun, and they really help to sate some of that ‘wanna play with fabric!’ urge that I get. I love textiles, love quilting, but I just don’t have enough hours in my day to dive in to my fabric stash as much as I would like. So, doing these quilt blocks in cross stitch form, especially with overdyed threads, helps with that.

june2

june3

june5

Now I’m on to a new piece,  ‘Just A Little Crazy’ which features little bits of crazy quilting all pulled together into one larger piece. A miniature quilt of sorts. More on that later!

Today I am grateful for the new goodies I have coming to play with, the opportunity to create with some new fabrics and threads. I am grateful for the rain and the thunder. I am grateful for coffee. Lots and lots of coffee.

Leave a Reply

