morning meditation marks

With the start of a new year comes the start of new adventures in daily stitching.  Here is the first few days of a piece I am working on using art yarn I crocheted with “orts”, those scrap bits of thread and yarn that I always save because you just never know when you might have need of them. (Like for this!) The fabric base is a recycled linen napkin that I snow dyed last year.

9569_1055863497786516_1888469646661313085_n

January 1st, finished the “art yarn” made from orts.

994740_1057910787581787_5874290691178868366_n

January 1st work

1044565_1058409487531917_4446084723615706689_n

January 2nd

 

I hope to make 2016 the year of making as much art as I possibly can; to hit the ground running instead of stumbling because of self doubt, to explore and try new things, to succeed and accept those things that aren’t as successful– not as failures, but as experiences that I will hopefully take something from to use in future adventures.

I want to give equal attention to my cross stitch designing and to the ‘just make art’ side of myself.  In doing so, I hope that what I do on each side will cross over to the other side and make me a little more rounded and whole.

I also need to keep in mind that while I want to try new things, new crafts, and all of that, I have a tendency to spread myself too thin, and then everything suffers.  I need to be mindful of my time. Use it wisely doing what I really want to do and invest my resources into it.  Maybe I will allow myself like a Saturday a month to try something new that has caught my eye.

For now, my 2016 goals are:

  • To create art every day.
  • To turn out at least three new cross stitch patterns each month.
  • To explore more handmade embellishments for my designs; be it buttons, beads, crocheted bits, dyed threads and fabrics
  • To continue with magazine submissions for publication.
  • To hit the thrift shop circuit and create using recycled and repurposed items whenever possible.
  • To be slow and thoughtful in my work unless crazy is called for, of course.
  • To show up and work at my craft without excuses.

There. That’s it in a nutshell.

Today I am grateful for the new year and being in relatively good health to experience it. I am grateful for my art and the want to dig into it. I am grateful for the hope that I can do this. That when someone asks me what I do for a living, I can and will say without hesitation that I am an artist.

Leave a Reply

