mending

I’m getting back to my mending.  When a pair becomes too thread bare to wear, I still hold on to them and often have a stack of ‘one day I’ll fix you’ pairs up on the shelf of my closet.

I pulled one pair out earlier this last week and started to mend.

I’m using denim to stabilize and patch, pieces I’ve saved from jeans that just didn’t survive and fell to my scissors instead of the fix me pile. This pair was almost the next victim in the denim harvest, but I looked at them, and as they were my most favorite pair in the whole wide world for so long, I decided to try and mend them instead.  There is a lot of memory in this garment, and I’m enjoying the process of pulling all of it together again.

One leg down, one leg to go. One stitch at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

