autumn stirrings

Every autumn it happens.  I find myself wanting to get out the crochet hook and the yarn and the little bits of this and that, wanting to make stuff that brings a lot of immediate satisfaction.

I have been debating for a long time what to do with my Etsy shop, and I found myself flip flopping back and forth between letting it go and filling it back up. In the wee hours last night, I made a decision.  It’s full again!
$RNMF4RX

I love using found fibers, bits left over from abandoned needlework kits, things I’ve found at thrift shops and flea markets. Buttons taken from old clothing and beads from old jewelry left tangled up in forgotten boxes.

$RVA2AIZ

I also plan on adding fun little needlework bits such as twinchies that I am especially fond of made with scraps of cloth and some of my hand dyed fabrics. Once the snow flies again, I am going to give the snow dyeing another round or four, and hope to offer dyed fabrics and threads as well.

$R2IXNYH

$RYJU97P

The “tidbits” (as they were coined when I started adding them to some of my needlework designs as embellishments) will be offered in the shop instead of on my website, both in designs that can be made in larger quantity and some that will be one of a kind depending on the materials I have to create with.

$RPSYDRQ

I just love making art yarns out of “orts”, or lengths of embroidery floss that are too short for needlework projects, but when knotted together and crocheted, you get a pretty cool skein of quirky and colorful, one of a kind yarn.

$RIVOWT8

Lots of surprises with tidbits, my little crocheted flower embellishments that end up being one of a kind, most of the time, because I like to center them with found buttons or beads.  Offering these pretties in grab bags based on colorway.

Today’s addition (so far!) these two twinchies, hand embroidered on my snow dyed aida with hand dyed cotton threads.  Love love these, and am going to do some more later today.

13

14

Carolyn Manning Designs on Etsy

Stop by and take a peek and let me know what you think!

Today I am grateful for renewed creative spirit. For black bean and kale soup in the crock pot.  And for Samhain Incense cones that have left my whole house warmly spiced and spiritually charged.

Leave a Reply

