shimmer

Today I finished the model for my newest design, Shimmer.  a sparkling tree of snowflakes with a finished stitch count of  95w x 165h.  Recommended threads, DMC, a whole bunch of Kreinik braids and blending filaments. Model stitched on 14ct. country French aida, “Rain’, from Wichelt Imports.

This is the first design I’ve done that used almost all metallic threads, and the end result was even better than I imagined it would be. bb

cc

dd

ee

The pattern is available on my website now, Carolyn Manning Designs, and will be making its way to my distributors and local needlework shops very soon.

shimmer

And now I’m back to Tree Hugger,  working on blocks seven and eight of sixteen. Still a lot of work on this model, but it’s been such a joy to stitch so far. When completed? 28,400 whole stitches. I’m still debating a bit of backstitch just for detail, as it is a “quilt block” interpretation, and I feel like there should be some running stitch. I’ll make that decision once I’ve finished stitching the blocks.

11

Today I am grateful for the completion of projects, for the excitement I am feeling over new ideas, and for my brilliant self-reliant children.

5 thoughts on “shimmer

Leave a Reply

