reef

I started stitching a new free form piece today.. The first marks put down with overdyed Valdani threads, the base of the piece is a hunk of heavy burgundy velvet layered with cottons and my usual scraps of recycled satin and sheer scarves.

009

As always, there is no real plan with these pieces.  Each day I just plop down and start stitching, layering bits as I go, ripping out other bits here and there as I might need to.  It truly is a different kind of chaos that sometimes comes together in the most unexpected and delightful ways, and I love it even if I’m not entirely thrilled with the end of the project.  I look at each as a journey, and not all journeys have happy endings.

aa

 

I just finished up the June Tidbit Club flowers, a sunny mix of yellows and oranges, some centered with found and recycled buttons from my collection.

These flowers can be purchased as well on my website,  Carolyn Manning Designs.

Today I am grateful for all the fresh fruits and vegetables we picked up this morning. I can’t wait to make up some yummy dishes with all of it in the upcoming days. Today I am grateful for the time to play with string and stitch for awhile just to…stitch– without deadlines, without need to make anyone happy but myself. And finally, today I am grateful for blueberry muffins.

Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being here.  – Neil Gaiman

2 thoughts on “reef

  1. I love your colorful, random pieces. Thanks for posting them, seeing stuff like that wants me to put the computer away and start stitching at once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

