Twinchies

Last February I started noticing these little bits of artwork that people were calling Twinchies and Inchies and a variety of other names, too, depending upon the size of the textile or paper “canvas”.

“How fun is that?” I thought, and then, I gave it a whirl. Needless to say, I am hooked.  Each week I have been challenging myself to create a few (along with another artist friend).  It is the perfect way to put all those little bits of this and that to use.
519a

Such fun to work through these tiny compositions.  What I find interesting is that often times it is a bigger challenge to work with the smaller surface than something larger.

3-10-15

I am always collecting fabric and weird textiles, sheer scarves and broken jewelry. I have boxes full of scraps and jars full of found buttons and beads.  Somewhere in the middle of all this collecting I acquired a large box of precut 2″x 2″ cotton squares; every color, pattern, and theme imaginable. They have certainly lent themselves well to this weekly challenge.

3-17-15

I have no idea what I might do with these when I’m finished. There might be a Twinchie Tome  looming or something. Time will tell. For now, I’m just going to enjoy the process.

4-14-15

3-3-15a

2 thoughts on “Twinchies

Leave a Reply

